Categories > Coding > C++ >

Is learncpp.com a good site for learning C++?

Threads: 3

Posted

I'm trying to learn C++ specifically for reverse engineering, is https://learncpp.com a good site to learn C++ for any purpose or are there any other places I could learn C++ for reverse engineering specifically?

I am a scripter and exploiter that has recently started developing DLLs and learning reverse engineering.

Threads: 6

Replied

theres no specific learning, u need to know  C++ to reverse engineer, i started learning there but it got hard i started and its easier watching a youtube video 10 hours

Added

i mean theres no specific learning for C++ to know reverse engineering

Threads: 48

Replied

don't learn C++ in conjunction with reverse engineering. Learn C++ properly, then learn reverse engineering, most of these so called reverse engineers who "know" c++, really are just mediocre developers. learncpp.com is great for learning C++, then once you get more advanced you can move onto C++ books that teach advanced C++ concepts and practices. 

https://media.discordapp.net/attachments/1044764388546068510/1051935933836050482/Signature_4.png

Threads: 28

Replied

Learn C first on an operating system like GNU/Linux, you'll learn the important basics. Then, move to Windows and start "learning C++". You'll most likely end up using C features and little to no C++.

I can give you a list of things to learn in order:

Learn pointers. It's easier than you think. Here's a very simple example of using a pointer:

// A pointer can be a variable or register or some sort of storage that stores an address to something else in memory
int my_actual_variable = 123;
// You can use uintptr_t to make a simple pointer:
uintptr_t my_pointer = &my_actual_variable;

OR

// You can use a generic pointer like this:
int * my_pointer = &my_actual_variable;

OR

// You can also just use void for a non-discriminatory pointer
void * my_pointer = &my_actual_variable;